top of page
Frozen nuggets in the package. Frozen nuggets from a shop in a package on a white background.
Le poulet cru congelé pané blâmé pour deux autres éclosions de Salmonella au Canada

Le mois de mars est arrivé au Canada avec des rapports sur deux nouvelles enquêtes sur l'éclosion de Salmonella liées au poulet cru, y compris des produits de poulet crus panés et congelés, selon les rapports de l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada.

Les deux nouvelles éclosions de Salmonella Enteritidis au Canada s'ajoutent à 15 autres qui viennent de faire l'objet d'un rapport du 28 février par  Food Safety News.

 Salmonella Enteritidis — Première nouvelle éclosion

Au 1er mars, la Santé publique a déclaré qu'il y avait 19 cas de maladie dans six provinces liées à cette éclosion : Alberta (1), Ontario (11), Québec (4), Nouveau-Brunswick (1), Nouvelle-Écosse (1) et Île-du-Prince-Édouard (1). Les personnes sont tombées malades entre décembre 2018 et février 2019.

Les rapports n'incluent aucun décès. Deux malades ont dû être hospitalisés. Les produits de poulet crus panés congelés suivants sont une source de cette éclosion :

  • No Name Chicken Nuggets, Uncooked, Club Pack (2 kg), avec une date de péremption du 8 novembre 2019. UPC – 0 60383 11693 4. Code de lot de la boîte extérieure : 2019 NO 08 EST 374. Code de lot du sac intérieur : 3128M . Le produit a été distribué à l'échelle nationale.

 

Les Compagnies Loblaw Limitée ont retiré les croquettes, lanières et hamburgers de poulet crus et congelés sans nom, y compris les croquettes de poulet sans nom, non cuites, format club (2 kg), de ses chaînes de vente au détail à travers le Canada le 8 février en raison du risque potentiel de maladie associé avec ce type de produits.

L'entreprise a informé les clients que le produit rappelé pouvait être retourné dans n'importe quel magasin où il avait été acheté.

Si les pépites de poulet sans nom, non cuites, format club (2 kg) sont encore dans les congélateurs, ne les mangez pas. Il est conseillé aux détaillants et aux restaurants de ne pas vendre ni servir ce produit.

Salmonella Enteritidis – Deuxième nouvelle éclosion

Actuellement, il y a 61 cas de maladie dans dix provinces liées à cette éclosion : Colombie-Britannique (4), Alberta (13), Saskatchewan (1), Manitoba (5), Ontario (23), Québec (4), Nouveau-Brunswick ( 2), Nouvelle-Écosse (5), Île-du-Prince-Édouard (3) et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador (1). Les personnes sont tombées malades entre juin 2018 et février 2019.

Les rapports indiquent que personne n'a eu besoin d'être hospitalisé et que personne n'est décédé.

Les produits de poulet crus panés et congelés sont à l'origine de cette éclosion.

Le 27 février, les produits rappelés étaient :

  • Croquettes de poulet Compliments – Escalopes de poulet panées, non cuites (1,5 kg), avec une date de péremption du 18 juillet 2019. CUP – 0 55742 33690 0. Code de lot de la boîte extérieure : 2019 JL 18. Code de lot du sac intérieur : 1998M. Le produit a été distribué à l'échelle nationale excluant le Québec. Produit rappelé le 25 janvier 2019

  • Croquettes de poitrine de poulet croustillantes et délicieuses (1,6 kg) avec une date de péremption du 19 juillet 2019. CUP – 0 69299 11703 5. Le produit a été distribué en Colombie-Britannique, au Manitoba, en Ontario et au Québec, et a probablement été distribué dans d'autres provinces ou territoires.

 

Les Canadiens sont avisés de ne pas consommer le produit rappelé, et les détaillants et les restaurants ne doivent pas vendre ni servir le produit rappelé.

Des informations sur les enquêtes nationales sur les éclosions de Salmonella liées au poulet cru, y compris les produits de poulet crus congelés et panés, coordonnées par l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada depuis mai 2017, sont disponibles à la fin du présent avis.

Qui est le plus à risque

Les nourrissons, les enfants, les personnes âgées et les personnes dont le système immunitaire est affaibli courent un risque plus élevé de maladie grave parce que leur système immunitaire est plus fragile.

La plupart des personnes qui tombent malades à la suite d'une infection à Salmonella se rétablissent complètement après quelques jours. Il est possible que certaines personnes soient infectées par la bactérie et ne tombent pas malades ou ne présentent aucun symptôme, mais sont capables de transmettre l'infection à d'autres.

Les symptômes

Les symptômes d'une infection à Salmonella, appelée salmonellose, commencent généralement 6 à 72 heures après l'exposition à la bactérie Salmonella d'un animal infecté ou d'un produit contaminé.  Ceux-ci incluent :

  • fièvre

  • des frissons

  • diarrhée

  • crampes abdominales

  • mal de tête

  • nausée

  • vomissement

 

Les symptômes durent généralement de quatre à sept jours. La salmonellose disparaît souvent sans traitement. Dans certains cas, mais une maladie grave et une hospitalisation peuvent survenir. Dans certains cas, des antibiotiques peuvent être nécessaires. Les personnes infectées par la bactérie Salmonella peuvent être contagieuses de plusieurs jours à plusieurs semaines. Les personnes qui présentent des symptômes ou qui ont des conditions médicales sous-jacentes doivent contacter leur fournisseur de soins de santé si elles soupçonnent qu'elles ont une infection à Salmonella.

bottom of page

Raw frozen breaded chicken blamed for two more Salmonella outbreaks in Canada

March arrived in Canada with reports of two new Salmonella outbreak investigations linked to raw chicken including raw frozen breaded chicken products, according to reports by the Public Health Agency of Canada.

The two new outbreaks of Salmonella Enteritidis in Canada are in addition to 15 others that were just subject to a Feb.28 report by Food Safety News.

 Salmonella Enteritidis — First New Outbreak

As of March 1, Public Health said there are 19 cases of illness in six provinces linked to this outbreak: Alberta (1), Ontario (11), Quebec (4), New Brunswick (1), Nova Scotia (1), and Prince Edward Island (1). Individuals became sick between December 2018 and February 2019.

Reports do not include any deaths. Two with illnesses required hospital treatment. The following frozen raw breaded chicken produce is a source of this outbreak:

  • No Name Chicken Nuggets, Uncooked, Club Pack (2 kg), with a best before the date of November 8, 2019. UPC – 0 60383 11693 4. Outer box lot code: 2019 NO 08 EST 374. Inner bag lot code: 3128M. The product was distributed nationally.

 

Loblaw Companies Limited removed No Name frozen raw breaded chicken nuggets, strips, and burgers, including No Name Chicken Nuggets, Uncooked, Club Pack (2 kg), from its retail chains across Canada on Feb. 8 due to the potential risk of illness associated with these types of products.

The company informed customers that the recalled product could be returned to any store where it was purchased.

If No Name Chicken Nuggets, Uncooked, Club Pack (2 kg) are still in people’s freezers, don’t eat it. Retailers and restaurants are advised not to sell or serve this product.

Salmonella Enteritidis –Second New Outbreak

Currently, there are 61 cases of illness in ten provinces linked to this outbreak: British Columbia (4), Alberta (13), Saskatchewan (1), Manitoba (5), Ontario (23), Quebec (4), New Brunswick (2), Nova Scotia (5), Prince Edward Island (3) and Newfoundland and Labrador (1). Individuals became sick between June 2018 and February 2019.

Reports say no one has required hospital treatment and no one has died.

Frozen raw breaded chicken products have are a source of this outbreak.

On Feb 27, the produce recalled was:

  • Compliments Chicken Nuggets – Breaded Chicken Cutlets, Uncooked (1.5 kg), with a best before the date of July 18, 2019. UPC – 0 55742 33690 0. Outer box lot code: 2019 JL 18. Inner bag lot code: 1998M. The product was distributed nationally excluding Quebec. Product recalled on Jan 25, 2019

  • Crisp & Delicious Chicken Breast Nuggets (1.6kg) with a best before the date of July 19, 2019. UPC – 0 69299 11703 5. The product was distributed in British Columbia, Manitoba, Ontario, and Quebec, and was likely distributed in other provinces or territories.

 

Canadians are advised not to consume the recalled product, and retailers and restaurants should not sell or serve the recalled product.

Information about previously investigated and currently closed national Salmonella outbreak investigations linked to raw chicken including raw frozen breaded chicken products, coordinated by the Public Health Agency of Canada since May 2017 is available at the end of this notice.

Who is most at risk

Infants, children, seniors and those with weakened immune systems are at higher risk of serious illness because their immune systems are more fragile.

Most people who become ill from a Salmonella infection will recover fully after a few days. It is possible for some people to be infected with the bacteria and to not get sick or show any symptoms, but are able to spread the infection to others.

Symptoms

Symptoms of a Salmonella infection, called salmonellosis, typically start 6 to 72 hours after exposure to Salmonella bacteria from an infected animal or contaminated product.  These include:

  • fever

  • chills

  • diarrhea

  • abdominal cramps

  • headache

  • nausea

  • vomiting

 

The symptoms usually last for four to seven days. Salmonellosis often clears up without treatment. In some cases, but severe illness and hospitalization may occur. In some cases, antibiotics may be required. People who are infected with Salmonella bacteria can be infectious from several days to several weeks. People who experience symptoms, or who have underlying medical conditions, should contact their health care provider if they suspect they have a Salmonella infection.

WHERE YOU CAN CONNECT WITH US

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn - Black Circle
ABOUT
Toronto Food Safety Training is a registered provider (TrainCan, Inc.) of food handler certificates. Also, Smart Serve Ontario.
Government approved to train foodservice | hospitality programs | retail grocery establishments since 2007.
Our passion is sharing vital information to keep you and your customers safe from hazards that lead to foodborne illness.
COURSES & EXPERTISE

Smart Serve Ontario

“Anyone who sells, serves, or handles alcohol in Ontario must complete the Smart Serve Certification course before their first day of work.”

BASICS.fst

Employee level food safety training

ADVANCED.fst

Management level food safety training

TRAIN-THE-TRAINER

Trainer status. Requires 90% in ADVANCED.fst and TRAIN-THE-TRAINER certification.

PAGES

Yonge and Eglinton​

Toronto, Ontario

(416) 488-1790

info@torontofoodsafetytraining.ca

© 2020 Toronto Food Safety Training | Toronto, Ontario, Canada | (416) 488-1790